In 1966, the Museum of Folk Architecture and Life opened in Znesinnya. In 2013, the museum received a $300,000 UNESCO grant. The two-year program included seminars and demand analysis, improving tourist attractiveness, and studying the experience of other museums. It was also planned to spend on advertising and purchase of special equipment for the architectural department and storage. At the end of July 2018, the management of the Museum announced an offer for the construction of an information and educational center in the southern part of the museum, on the street Chernecha Gora. The project had to be completed in 2020, but it was frozen because of the fact that the company that was supposed to build the Center did not have the relevant documents and licenses, which caused a big local scandal. Since December 1, 2016, the Museum is named after Klymentiy Sheptytsky (1869-1951), blessed of the Catholic Church, Ukrainian religious figure, brother of Metropolitan Andrei Sheptytsky (1865-1944). Klymentiy Sheptytsky was also ambassador to the Galician Sejm and the Vienna Parliament before 1918.The name of the museum „Shevchenko grove“ never had an official status. The museum is one of the largest open-air museums in Europe. More than 100 monuments of folk architecture have been translocated to this place. Whether it is a house under a thatched roof, or a barn of a wealthy peasant, or a mill, or more than a century-old school - each object is unique both from the point of view of an interested specialist and a visitor who wants to learn more about the material and spiritual culture of Ukrainians. Traveling through the museum, the visitor finds himself in a kind of micro village with estates, farms and production facilities (oil mill, sawmill, apiary, dressing room, etc.). The collection of sacred buildings (churches, chapels is the largest of the world. The highlight of recent years is that the open-air museum works according to the concept of a „living museum“: presentations of ancient crafts and master classes take place at almost every object. Straw weaving, weaving, oil extraction, blacksmithing, baking bread, playing folk musical instruments and much more. In the museum, ethnographic and theatrical events are held annually. The museum's repositories contain more than 21,000 exhibits - collections of clothing and fabrics, furniture, musical instruments, ceramics, jewelry, icons, etc.
The first exhibit of the museum The church of St. Nicholas from the village Kryvka (Turka Raion, 125 kilometers southwest of Lviv), built by an unknown master in 1763, was the first exhibit of the future Museum. This pearl of wooden architecture was rebuilt in Kaiserwald in 1930. The initiator of the preservation and transportation of a unique wooden church to Lviv was the famous Ukrainian art critic Mykhailo Dragan (1899-1952).
(Yaryna Melianchuk, Lviv Polytechnic National University, 2021)
Internet sources de.wikipedia.org: Museum für Volksarchitektur und Landleben Schewtschenko-Hain livingskansen.org: Klymentiy Sheptytsky Museum of Folk Architecture and Life (Shevchenko grove) in Lviv uk.wikipedia.org: Klymentiy Sheptytsky Museum of Folk Architecture and Life (Shevchenko grove) in Lviv uma.lvivcenter.org: Photo of St. Nicolas Church
Klymentiy Sheptytsky Museum of Folk Architecture and Life (Shevchenko grove) in Lviv
Dies sind zum einen technisch notwendige Cookies,
um die Funktionsfähigkeit der Seiten sicherzustellen. Diesen können Sie nicht widersprechen, wenn
Sie die Seite nutzen möchten. Darüber hinaus verwenden wir Cookies für eine Webanalyse, um die
Nutzbarkeit unserer Seiten zu optimieren, sofern Sie einverstanden sind. Mit Anklicken des Buttons
erklären Sie Ihr Einverständnis. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Datenschutzseite.